Skip to content

Scheldeprijs — a first-time winner for 2012?

April 4, 2012

There is Classics racing in-between the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix, and it’s called Scheldeprijs, 202 km of flat racing from Antwerp to Schoten in Belgium that’s made for a sprinter’s win. Scheldeprijs started in 1907.

With Mark Cavendish sitting this one out and Boonen stating he’s conserving energy for Paris-Roubaix, it will be interesting to see which other sprinters will mix it up for the win. Marcel Kittel for the newly-named Argos-Shimano team? Jake Keough of UnitedHealthcare has been on a strong season so far, with multiple top-10 results in the Tour of Langkawi, not to mention the Langkawi sprint king, Andrea Guardini of Farnese Vini – Selle Italia, who won six stages in that tour. Garmin-Barracuda’s Tyler Farrar looks free to ride for himself with Sep Vanmarcke no longer on the startlist, presumably due to illness.

Tune in on April 4th and find out who prevails. Live coverage options.

Provisional startlist.

Last ten Scheldeprijs winners:

2011 Mark Cavendish (GBr)
2010 Tyler Farrar   (USA)
2009 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita)
2008 Mark Cavendish (GBr)
2007 Mark Cavendish (GBr)
2006 Tom Boonen (Bel)
2005 Thorwald Veneberg (Ned)
2004 Tom Boonen (Bel)
2003 Ludovic Capelle (Bel)
2002 Robbie McEwen (Aus)

From → Road Racing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: